Walking In A Winter Dunderland

Any bets on how quickly the blithering (blizzarding?) liberals will blame this storm on Global Warming–or, as they’ve been calling it since the world recently began freezing its collective hindquarters, Climate Change?  Hey, idiots, it’s winter!

Historic Blizzard And Ice Storm Underway

100 Million People To Be Affected

Ushering in the notoriously stormy month of February, a massive storm will sweep from the nation’s heartland into the South and Northeast.

Snow, ice, high winds, blizzard conditions, and even severe t-storms are possible with this all-encompassing storm.

About Bob Mack

Retired since 2003. Military Service: U.S. Army, 36th Artillery Group, Babenhausen, Germany 1966-67; 1st Signal Brigade, Republic of Vietnam, 1967-68 Attended University of Miami, 1969-73
This entry was posted in News, Opinion, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Walking In A Winter Dunderland

  1. AFVET says:

    I was raised in a town that has a gigantic sandstone rock in the middle of it.
    The rock was moved from Canada by a glacier, 10,000 years ago.
    It is 300 ft. high, and the native Indians used it for the observation of their enemies.
    That’s 30 stories folks.
    The Indians called it the standing stone.
    The plane that is around it indicates the glacier receded and created the many streams and rivers that still exist.
    I have been on the top, and you can see for miles in all directions.

    Global warming my a$$.

  2. TexasFred says:

    DAMN AL GORE and GLO-BULL WARMING…

    It’s 18° in Rowlett, Texas, a suburb of Dallas. The wind out of the NORTH at 20-25 MPH and it’s still getting COLDER… That’s the best we are gonna get here in TEXAS today… I hope the damned *Cheese Heads* are happy… Dallas feels like Milwaukee…

    • AFVET says:

      It’s 32 degrees in Ohio, and the wind is from the south. Thanks.
      The Steelers and the Packers are going to be in the best environment that we up north want to see.
      In other words, if it’s cold in Texas, it will be a good game.

      Stop whining TexasFred, we just went through a month of single digits over night.

  3. Bob Mack says:

    It didn’t take long: “Cold air blowing down from Canada is the proximate cause of Tuesday’s and Wednesday’s remarkably cold temperatures. But the epic levels of snow and ice coming our way are just the sort of thing we can expect more of as the planet warms, says a new report from the National Wildlife Fund.”

  4. Ike Jakson says:

    I hope all the sods that talk about Global Warming will freeze up permanently this winter.

  5. samhenry says:

    Oh, Ike, there you are. You know I gave you access to my blog when you do not have one yourself and most of us don’t do that. Then I looked at your picture and it looked as if you didn’t have any clothes on so I went right over to Sami’s place and asked him to check you out, you old masher! Oh, dear, nothing exciting.

    I live way east of Sami and I guess AFVET – out here in Western New York where if you say Buffalo, Rochester, Syracuse or Watertown out loud, people visibly shake. We had a summer like Florida when I was 7 and Dad bought us a toboggan – an expensive toboggan. So I figure this global warming business is about 60 years old and Al Gore is to little to remember when it started, LOL. I can’t believe this winter. It even has me down and scared of the ice. Really COLD and slippery here but here’s the thing, Washington. We have plows the size of tanks and we use them! Then we follow them to W-O-R-K. We don’t have many snow days.

    Finally, I wrote to my brother that a big “snot [typo]” storm was coming and he wrote back – “expecting a cold”? Yea, there’s two of us trying real hard. Now what was this post about – ah yes, a snow storm!

    • Bob Mack says:

      Hi, SH. As far as I know, Ike does wear clothes, but I guess I’ll let him address that issue himself when he returns.

    • Ike Jakson says:

      Hi samhenry

      You got me in a quandary here about my “picture” and the clothes business. What picture and what Blog are you talking about? Please fill me in.

      On the matter of clothes, yes I do have some for when it is essential or when I have company; referring to summer time and then I cut my hair very short and the beard down to number two, but only put on clothes when absolutely necessary. In winter I grow my hair and beard long to form a blanket around the old head and then I dress all the time, but just because of the cold.

      The name samhenry rings a bell but I can’t place it. You sound a nice sort of guy; please fill me in on our meeting[s] in the past.

      Go well.

    • AFVET says:

      I live a bit south of Sami.
      He gets that lake effect crap, we don’t.
      Same state, major difference.

  6. samhenry says:

    So now Sami came to On My Watch and let loose with “Evening SamH. So what is going on here.” I guess I cried wolf. Funniest thing I have ever lived through but it takes 3 blogs to see it all. Aren’t I wonderful. Don’t I make life fun? See you tomorrow evening.

  7. Bob Mack says:

    Any bets on how quickly the blithering (blizzarding?) liberals will blame this storm on Global Warming?

    Can I call ’em or can I call ’em? Well, it’s easy when you know your idiots. From Michelle Malkin’s blog:

    Al Gore Has Impeccable Comedic Timing

    A good portion of the country is getting buried in snow and hit with frigid temps, so naturally Al Gore figured this would be the perfect time to remind everyone how hot it’s getting:

    Last week on his show Bill O’Reilly asked, “Why has southern New York turned into the tundra?” and then said he had a call into me. I appreciate the question.

    As it turns out, the scientific community has been addressing this particular question for some time now and they say that increased heavy snowfalls are completely consistent with what they have been predicting as a consequence of man-made global warming:

    “In fact, scientists have been warning for at least two decades that global warming could make snowstorms more severe. Snow has two simple ingredients: cold and moisture. Warmer air collects moisture like a sponge until it hits a patch of cold air. When temperatures dip below freezing, a lot of moisture creates a lot of snow.”

    “A rise in global temperature can create all sorts of havoc, ranging from hotter dry spells to colder winters, along with increasingly violent storms, flooding, forest fires and loss of endangered species.”

    No matter what happens, it’s global warming — just shut up and give your money to Generation Investment Management and pass the Twinkies, denier!

    At what point do the laws of science alter enough so that the global warming causes hotter weather instead of snow? Coincidentally around the beginning of summer. Settled science is very seasonal.

  8. samhenry says:

    I feel I’m in the middle ages whenever this subject comes up. Let’s start over. Anyone want to go up the Washington monument with an apple and toss it to see if it falls? Get out your Bunsen burners folks, we need to get some chemistry down. We’ll get there we just have to go back through a couple of centuries of data and experiments to prove to big Al that it’s not global warming that will cancel his golf game anytime soon.

    • Bob Mack says:

      Al says that snow forms when moisture laden warm air hits a “patch” of cold air. Okay, but if the planet’s warming up so much, from where did the cold air come? Logic would indicate that even cold air would be relatively warmer than before, consequently less snow, not more. If I was a betting man, I think I’d take my chips off the “Hot Times” line & lay ’em on “Ice Age.”

  9. Ike Jakson says:

    I am off-line while I compose this and will submit it before I can check on all the details in previous comments; that’s how I have to work for my eye.

    But some of you mentioned places all over. I have a question; anyone of you guys knows the Everglades down in Florida? The one with an affirmative answer will be presented with the info to a precious jewel. Come Folks; this is your chance. This ole guy may be abrupt about the big O but this is in earnest from the heart.

    Who will be first?

    • Bob Mack says:

      Ike, I lived in Miami from ’69 to ’72 (Coconut Grove), so I have a passing acquaintance with Alligator Alley. It snowed there once, I remember big flakes falling on Biscayne Blvd., but nobody shrieked “Global Warming”. Or for that matter, “Global Cooling”. The only thing I remember anybody shrieking is, “What the hell is this stuff?” And now for a blast from the past:

      If I was a Democrat, I’d have entitled this blog “Even If You’re Always WRONG, Go Ahead Anyway.”

Your thoughts?

