The Gift of Fear

Reposted from LeatherneckM31:

The Gift of Fear…Can Save Your Life

It remains a vivid memory.

On convalescent leave from the Long Beach Naval hospital after being medevaced from Vietnam, I accompanied a friend to his bank. As he opened the door and I followed him in, a motorcycle backfired only 10 feet behind us.

Mike continued on, but I was literally on the floor in one of the bank lobby green foliage areas; naturally the bank customers all turned to look at the door when the backfire occurred; who knows that they thought.

My heart raced. I was angry and self-critical for a few seconds as I got to my feet; I wanted to explain to the the civilians why I was on the floor, while knowing of course that they didn’t “get it”.

“Yeah, but if the loud noise had been something else,” I said to myself, “I’d be alive and they’d be dead.

The ”hyper-vigilence” I believe saved my life 40 years ago continues to serve me well; I have found a kindred spirit in Gavin de Becker, author of “The Gift of Fear” and an internationally-recognized expert in violence and human beings’ victimization and reaction to it.

Buy this book and make everyone in your family read it… here.

  • “intuition is always right in at least two important ways; It is always in response to something it always has your best interest at heart”
  • “You have the gift of a brilliant internal guardian that stands ready to warn you of hazards and guide you through risky situations.”
  • “While you may be able to keep your son Jimmy from owning [a gun], if you try to talk him out of wanting one, you are up against a pretty strong argument: You mean I shouldn’t want a device that grants me power and identity, makes me feel dangerous and safe at the same time, instantly makes me the dominant male, and connects me to my evolutionary essence? Come on, Mom, get real!”

De Becker’s message, his passion, is that your intuition, the visual and auditory scanning of ones environment, can save your life if your snap out of your potentially fatal belief that “it can’t happen here”… “it was probably nothing.”

I was seated in a Denver restaurant for breakfast one morning when for some reason I became intensely aware of the conversation between two men in the next booth. My intuition said, “get up and go.”

I did.

Was there a mass casualty murder later in that Denny’s? No. Was I worried about upsetting the waitress… not eating… wasting my time?

Absolutely not.

I learned very long ago to listen to that inner voice that de Becker insists we must all heed:

“The solution to violence in America is the acceptance of reality.”

Well said Mr. de Becker.

What do we tell our children about their intuition and their safety?

“Don’t be afraid of clowns… they’re funny and won’t hurt you.”

Three words: John Wayne Gacy.

“If you’re in trouble go to the nice policeman, he’s our friend.”

Ex-cop is a serial child molester

De Becker is unyielding on this… as a society we contribute to our own victimization and we raise our children to follow suit.

His answer… ? “Run to a woman as fast as you can.”

It doesn’t take a genius to understand the value and rationale in that instruction.

Despite being a “noted historian” according to some, and despite four presidential assassinations–RFK, MLK,George Wallace–and numerous failed attempts, Newt Gingrich just yesterday sat on his fat ass at a book signing as a left-wing homo reached into a bag… REACHED INTO A BAG… and tossed confetti all over him, and his wife.

He never moved or even attempted to protect his wife.

Rep. Giffords and 18 Shot Near Tucson

President Bush ducked and damned near fielded not one, but two two shoes thrown at him by a raghead… in RAGHEAD LAND. Did he think “grenade”, “acid”, “hypo needles”… ?

Nope, as far as I could see, he never moved.

De Becker preaches:

  • Violence is random
  • It can happen at any time
  • We are all capable of it
  • We are hardwired to recognize when we are in danger, if we learn how to pay attention and don’t ignore
  • Awareness is the starting point to being as safe as possible
  • Everyone has intuition and everyone can develop awareness
  • The appearance of being an unattractive target can be the most effective deterrent to a potential predator

Voice, posture, having ones head “on a swivel” serve as our our innate protection weapons. Who is more likely to get mugged, car jacked or worse….?

The woman with her head up, scanning the area with her largest key clutched pointing out of a closed fist, or the head down, rummaging through her purse, slow, distracted woman bent over her trunk loading groceries?

…Read the rest at LeatherneckM31

About Bob Mack

Retired since 2003. Military Service: U.S. Army, 36th Artillery Group, Babenhausen, Germany 1966-67; 1st Signal Brigade, Republic of Vietnam, 1967-68 Attended University of Miami, 1969-73
This entry was posted in Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Gift of Fear

  1. boudicabpi says:

    Thanks Bob,
    Don’t get around as much as I would like.
    Bob A.

  2. TexasFred says:

    Even to this very day, I hear *BOOM* and I naturally duck and reach for whatever I happen to be carrying at the moment… It’s called survival instinct… Because we ALL know, if you HEAR it, it’s not the one that got you…

  3. Matt says:

    I can’t argue with that a bit. It’s all to easy to be oblivious and think, “it can’t happen here.”

  4. I grew up in the country (when Northern Virginia was still rural) and was taught from an early age to be on the lookout for rabid animals, which proliferated here at one time. That kind of watchfulness is ingrained in me and, on a few occasions, did prevent harm from happening to me — albeit harm by a vicious animal.

    But today children are taught to run for safety. Running doesn’t always work!

  5. Good points all, about self-awareness, self-defense, and listening to your instincts. I’ll admit, though, that as a parent of young children, my problem is more the opposite. Today’s culture wants me and my kids to be absolutely paranoid. To treat every stranger as a potential threat. To never let my kids out of my sight for fear of that possible kidnapper.

    It’s bad enough to make kids unhealthily fearful of their everyday surroundings.

    So I spend more time fighting against that and teaching my boys to be independent and more fearless than fearful. I get some flak for it, sometimes, too.

    Best
    Linda

  6. Angel says:

    spot on ..you can’t underestimate intuition my friend. God bless you.:)

Your thoughts?

