“I’d Like To Thank All Those People Who Made This Night Necessary”

Thanks to Yankee great Yogi Berra for the title of this post, and to Matt Ross at Conservative Hideout for the “Most Influential Blogger” nomination.  I’ve been called many things over the years, but “influential” has not normally been one of ’em.  In fact, most of the time, they’ve rarely had over four letters …

most-influential-blogger1

1. Why did you start a political blog, and when?

In the summer of 2010, after stumbling across the LeatherneckM31 blog & realizing that there were lots of people just as disgusted with the ongoing Obama coup as I was.  Possessing some modest skills in scrivening and cartooning, I decided I could best employ them by joining the conservative internet underground.

2. If you could have dinner with any person, living or dead, who would it be?

Sam Clemens, aka Mark Twain.  A legendary way with words, and a guy who liked cigars and whiskey almost as much as me.

3. What person has most influenced your life and in what way have they done so?

The 16 months I spent in Vietnam, 1967-68, were the most influential time; the guys with whom I served and the brother veterans I came to know afterward were the most influential people.  They were and are the best America has to offer.

4. If you could choose one state for Conservatives to “take over” and reshape into a vision of America congruent with Constitutional / Conservative principles, what state would you choose and why?

How ’bout the “state of mind” which caused supposedly reasonable people to twice vote for a Marxist president.  Man, would I like to permanently change that.

5. If you could do anything just one time, what would that one thing be?

Travel back in time & convince Barack Obama’s mother that abortion really is the way to go.

6. What book has influenced your life (other than the Bible or Torah) and describe how?

Uncle Scrooge Comics by Carl Barks:  “I made it by being tougher than the toughies and smarter than the smarties! And I made it square!”

Roots Of American Order: “In this classic work, Russell Kirk describes the beliefs and institutions that have nurtured the American soul and commonwealth.  For an understanding of the significance of America at the dawn of a new century, Russell Kirk’s masterpiece on the history of American civilization is unsurpassable.”

7. If you could purchase one vehicle of your choice, regardless of the price, what would it be?

Willie Nelson’s RV.

Ground Rules:

1. Display the award logo on your blog.

2. Link back to the person who nominated you

3. Answer 7 questions decided up by your nominator

4. Nominate ( no limit of nominations ) other bloggers for this award and link back to them:

The Texas Fred Blog

LeatherneckM31

Voting American

Grumpy Opinions

Bunkerville

What Would The Founders Think

CMBlake6’s Weblog

Boudica BPI Weblog

About Bob Mack

Retired since 2003. Military Service: U.S. Army, 36th Artillery Group, Babenhausen, Germany 1966-67; 1st Signal Brigade, Republic of Vietnam, 1967-68 Attended University of Miami, 1969-73
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to “I’d Like To Thank All Those People Who Made This Night Necessary”

  1. I really enjoyed your answer to question #5. LOL

  2. Ike Jakson says:

    Well done Bob

    You thoroughly deserve this and many more; it gave me a great kick and some good old tears in the eye to read it and I want to say thank you for that too. With people like you and some others that you mention so gracefully I see hope for America. Your modesty is uncalled for; on the other hand that is another trait that you have in abundance ant that others

    On 7/31/13, Be Sure You’re RIGHT, Then Go Ahead

  3. Angel says:

    congrads to u as well!!:)

  4. Yes… well-deserved; thanks for the plug… should get off my lazy six and back to work at LM3/1. Regards.
    GA

  5. AFVet says:

    Great post Bob.
    Ever wonder why you can recall the names of the guys you served with ?
    Probably because they were in the same mess that you were in.
    Getting back to the ‘world’ was not what I was ready for.
    Sometimes I wish that I had stayed in longer.

    • Bob Mack says:

      I was gonna take my discharge in Saigon & move to Bangkok. I could be puttering around the khlongs with a pocket full of baht like old Johnny Rambo …

  6. Pingback: “I’d Like To Thank All Those People Who Made This Night Necessary” | Grumpy Opinions

Your thoughts?

